Strelets Forum

Welcome to the Strelets Forum.
Please feel free to discuss any aspect of 1/72 scale plastic figures, not simply Strelets.
If you have any questions about our products then we will answer them here.

Strelets Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Roman Pilums, Other Spears & Other Weapons

Hi Dave. I'm not an expert either, but my understanding is that the Romans only used th pilum and short sword. Throw the pilum and then engage with gladius. I didn't think they used thrusting spears. This would mean that the SR troops need to be grouped separately; sword and pilum respectively.

the Romans best weapon was ....

discipline.....

Re: the Romans best weapon was ....

the Legionaries used the pilum and short sword.

The auxiliaries used the long-hafted spear (hastae??)that could be thrust or thrown as needed. So the gladius is the main weapon of the legionary, while the hasta is the main weapon of the auxiliary soldier

I'm fairly sure that the legionaries and auxiliaries fought in different styles: The legion in close order with the auxiliary cohorts in looser(but not open)order. Maybe less ranks deep or something similar for the auxies.

Re: the Romans best weapon was ....

Their best weapons were organisation and training.

Re: Re: the Romans best weapon was ....

Discipline, organization, training ... as well as tactics or strategies are (to me) intangibles. Meaning, weapons would be tangibles, such as swords, spears, and arrows and catapults. Not the same things (again, to me).

Example: In the epic movie El Cid, the beseigers catapulted bread over the walls into the city of the beseiged, not as weapons, but as part of a strategy to encourage them to lay down their weapons, and surrender in peace.