Strelets Forum

Welcome to the Strelets Forum.
Please feel free to discuss any aspect of 1/72 scale plastic figures, not simply Strelets.
If you have any questions about our products then we will answer them here.

Strelets Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Pondering the 1/72 Scale Future...

I've been collecting for over 50 years now & I don't think the bigger sets will ever die. Zvezda has been tinkering with AOT for years now & they have their place as some wonderful specialty sets; mortars, MGs, some artillery, Medics, Observers, etc, but they will never replace the need for tons of infantry! Plus, there are still enough companies around that are doing some wonderful sets & others, once very low grade sets, are improving in quality. New companies are still never out of the question.

Hi all
Well, a few more thoughts, people of my generation I'm 67 now, were children of our time. I remember my mother talking (confusedly!) of wartime memories of the Blitz and much else. We had holidays climbing over old castles, which I didn't much care for, going to Biggin Hill Air Fair, which I did, growing up with war films and documentaries and reading books on military history, and comics - confession time - I still read some of the old shilling comics etc for light entertainment and amuse myself picking out the technical errors! I'm also one of the original Airfix Generation when we could buy them everywhere. I guess I haven't changed much!
As for history, well I don't want to get very political but I think Political correctness has much to answer for. I remember some years ago that new generations were living in the here and now and seeing history as irrelevant. I remember one of the first things about history I learned that was that those who forget the lessons of history repeat them which we see all around us today.