Strelets Forum

Welcome to the Strelets Forum.
Please feel free to discuss any aspect of 1/72 scale plastic figures, not simply Strelets.
If you have any questions about our products then we will answer them here.

Strelets Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: SCW & SJW conversions ideas

Minuteman, you are right that there are conversions on show on Benno's, but it is rather one or few - brilliant - figures while I usually need entire - passable - units / armies (say 1914 Serbian, 1940/41 Greek, 1937 Chinese). I prefer plastic over metal.

I miss the Socienty of Gentleman Gamers forum, which was an excellent showcase for figures, vehicles and terrain pieces; have they gone Facebook? The Guild was also inspirational, it has been rebuild recently as The Wargamers' Forum.

I am no expert on the Spanish Civil War but wondering if the figures from the Strelets Boer Field Artillery set (M224)and Boer infantry (M138) could be used for Spanish Civil War Republican troops with heads provided from the French WW1 in Summer dress (M134)or as mentioned in Pa's post using Minairons replacement heads.

Also some of the Confederate figures might be useful - such sets as Confederates Skirmishing (M158), Picketts Charge 3 (M178) and Confederate Infantry in Defence (M249) might also be worthwhile for the SCW. Obviously some uniform details would need to be changed but there are some interesting poses in these sets and with new heads as mentioned above and possibly weapons, I feel that they might prove to be quite good for this period. Those more knowledgeable about the conflict might prove me wrong or shed more light, but I think they may be worth a look. Anyone else with such ideas ?