Strelets Forum

Welcome to the Strelets Forum.
Please feel free to discuss any aspect of 1/72 scale plastic figures, not simply Strelets.
If you have any questions about our products then we will answer them here.

Strelets Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Flags

Donald,

Well I am no expert on fabrics, but my understanding is that flags in the era that we are interested in were often made of Tafetta: Wikipedia describes this as:

"Taffeta (/ˈtæfɪtə/; archaically spelled taffety) is a crisp, smooth, plain woven fabric made from silk"

When brand new, this would probably have had a slight sheen, but I suspect that this would wear off quickly. Given that flags would either be embroidered (mainly cavalry) or painted (mainly infantry) the finish of the original cloth would be covered by other media anyway.

My own preference is to show colours/standards/flags/guidons as 'matt' rather than 'silk' in their finish. I think that gloss varnish on a flag would look wrong, but this is a matter also of personal preference.

Incidentally, Wikipedia also says that the first balloon flight (Montgolfier brothers) in 1782 was with a hot air balloon manufactured from Tafetta; so, if you are planning an early observation balloon for your Revolutionary/early Napoleonic armies you might also bear this in mind!

Varnish does not scale. Water doesn't scale either. Remember all those old films with model ships filmed in bath tubs? No doubt this is something to do with something sciencey like refraction. Point is, doesn't work. You have to alter the appearance to take account of scale.

So, for example, if you use gloss to represent a highly polished painted metal object, e.g. a steam locomotive in OO gauge, it will look horrible. To look right at scale, you would need to represent high gloss with a satin.

Applying this, I would say that any slight sheen of a real silk flag would be lost at scale and they would look best matt.