Strelets Forum

Welcome to the Strelets Forum.
Please feel free to discuss any aspect of 1/72 scale plastic figures, not simply Strelets.
If you have any questions about our products then we will answer them here.

Strelets Forum
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Don't bite the hand that feeds you

It always makes me laugh when I watch discussions about standardisation in armies and listen to "button-counters". I took a picture of a nine-man infantry section of the Black Watch battlegroup in Iraq in 2003 - in an age when standardisation might be expected because of the relative ease and uniformity of supply sources. No two of them are dressed exactly the same. I'd wager it was even worse during the 18th and 19th centuries. Armies tend to wear what's available in the field. I've 30 years' experience of wars and I've never seen troops turned out in a war zone in parade-ground order. They adapt. They have older kit and newer items in a mix which suits them. Or because it's all there is. That's reality. It was ever thus. :slightly_smiling_face:

"All men have their frailties; and whoever looks for a 1/72 scale friend without imperfections, will never find what he seeks."

Cyrus the Great

(Okay, maybe I edited the quote a little)

A wise fellow hobbyist whom I haven't heard from in some years (at least in the forums I tend to inhabit) used to use a 3-foot rule in 1/72 scale figures - if it wasn't visible or actually noticeable from 3-feet in full scale it wasn't important enough to bother with.

I like a certain degree of accuracy in my figures. At the same time, though, as with Alan Buckingham, I grew up in the era where we "made do." The first actual "Napoleonics" I ever saw were from the Hong Kong company "Giant" - They made some nice looking figures in 1/72 scale, but they were basically French uniforms in blue for French, red for British. But we played with them nonetheless. When I discovered Airfix I was in heaven.