Opinions and Comments from Georgia Appraisers

Georgia Appraisers' Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Where do I start?

Hello,

I am not an appraiser, but I'm interested in becoming
one. I've been looking into several schools but I really don't know where to start.

My background is retail, I owned and operated a gift
shop for seven years, but before that I worked for
a realtor for a short time and have been interested
in becoming an appraiser ever since.

I welcome any comments or advice any of you could can
offer.

Thanks

Re: Where do I start?

I would wait until the market picks up. Right now your going to have a hard time finding work w/ a decent mentor.

You have just mentioned 2 of my biggest concerns.

The market situation is the main reason I've been
sitting back watching. In my area land has sold like
crazy and homes are going up by the dozens but a lot
of them are sitting empty.

I have a potential mentor, I've dealt with him in the
past. He told me to give him a call when I was ready
work. However, a friend of mine just got her realtor's
license and is having a very hard time.

Misty

"I have a potential mentor, I've dealt with him in the
past. He told me to give him a call when I was ready
work."

Call him. BUT, don't give up the day job! It takes 3-5 years to really get going good in either the sales or appraising end. Both are all about learning, advancing in skills, and marketing.